Geoff Mudge

GEOFF MUDGE : Adelaide, Australia.
POOLE PIRATE 1960 – 1970

A red headed South Australian, who first came to prominence on the Australian road racing circuits before trying his hand on the dirt tracks and lifting the Australian Longtrack championship in 1959.

Made his way to the UK at the start of 1960 and took part in second half events for the Knott promotion at Southampton. His efforts quickly persuaded them to offer him an extended run with their sister club at Poole, which proved to be the start of a successful partnership that was to last until the end of 1970. Opened his account with a faultless maximum in his first home league match and finished the season with a 7.21 average.

A member of the Pirates side that swept its way to the Provincial League championship in 1961 and 1962, he took over the mantle as the club’s number one rider, a position which he maintained throughout the rest of his career at Wimborne Road. A stylish performer, Geoff took over the club captaincy in 1962, and led by example, topping the Pirates end of season with an average of 10.14.

His reliability proved a big factor in Poole’s success, averaging well over 8.00 for the next two seasons, while he showed he was no slowcoach around the Wimborne Road circuit, setting two new track records during that time.

The formation of the British League saw him maintain a remarkable level of consistency with the 1969 season seeing him at his brilliant best as the Pirates sped to the British League championship for the first time in the club’s history. The season’s end also saw him lead the Pirates on their successful five match tour of Poland

One of he most consistent scorers in the club’s history, he finished the 1970 season on top of the Poole averages once again and looked all set to extend his time at the club, so it came as a major surprise when he was granted a transfer away from the club at the end of the year.

Made 337 League and Knockout Cup appearances for the club and scored 2739.5 points
He was inducted into the Poole Hall of Fame in 1994.